Cannonball Adderley

The Black Messiah - 1972

One of the oft-overlooked giants of late 60s/early 70s jazz fusion, Cannonball Adderley's music was buoyed by the tremendous songwriting of Joe Zawinul, who moonlighted on Miles Davis' In a Silent Way and Bitches Brew LPs before taking the reins of Weather Report with Wayne Shorter. Black Messiah, recorded live at the Trubadour in LA, proves that Adderley's music could certainly stand on its own without him. Featuring the wild electric piano of George Duke to fill Zawinul's role, the band is fleshed out to the point that Adderley protests before one song "Now I don't give a damn whether you can count or not, we still are the Cannonball Adderley Quintet!" This vicious mix of tunes runs the gamut from dark funk to boogie, includes a four minute flute/percussion solo featuring Airto Moriera and basically changes style from one number to the next. That however, paired with Cannonball's warm stage presence and unmatched rapport with his audience, is what makes this LP so enjoyable. Get up with it.


Anonymous said...

I think there's a song (from the second LP) missing in the download:
Can you please check it out?

- "Pretty Paul" (Julian Adderley) 2:48 min

JR HeatWarp said...

Whomever transferred this from the vinyl missed a track break between a couple of songs on the second side. All of the songs are here when you give it a listen, but it gives the illusion of being one track short when you play the album through itunes.

Anonymous said...

This is another groovy groove Heat Warps! You keep dishing out some lost classics. I also did not get to comment on Jo Zawinul's "Zawinul" and Curtis Mayfield's "Curtis/Live"--it looks like you had to remove them(?) Anyhoo, those are a couple of keepers as well.

I actually played Curtis' live album right after Sam Cooke's "Live at Harlem Square Club" (1963)--you wanna talk about a consistent energy of funk and soul!!! Highly recommended.

JR HeatWarp said...

Here's the tracklist for this gem. It's a little confusing, since a couple of tunes have on the second side have been combined into one mp3.

1. Introduction
2. The Black Messiah
3. Monologue
4. Little Benny hen
5. Zanek
6. Dr. Honoouris Cousa
7. The Chocolate Nuisance
8. Untitled (Airto solo)
9. The Steam Drill
10. Eyes of the Cosmos
11. Episode from the Music Came
12. Heritage
13. Circumference/Pretty Paul
14. The Scene