John Lennon, Part 2 of 3

The Complete Lost Lennon Tapes, Volume 2 (discs 9-15)

The second volume of the Complete Lost Lennon Tapes picks up right where the first left off - which is easy enough since there's little rhyme or reason to the tracklisting. Nope, no tidy chronological order here, just seven more discs of outtakes, demos, alternate versions and comedy routines in startlingly high fidelity. Just like the first eight discs, the highlights here are innumerable, but I certainly have my favorites; the surprisingly fully formed acoustic demo of Abbey Road's "Because" and the work in progress takes of "Give Peace a Chance" on disc 14, a drum machine and acoustic guitar take on Jimmy Cliff's "Many Rivers to Cross" that rivals the version on Nilsson's Pussy Cats LP in terms of sheer beauty, and finally, the raw urgency lurking throughout the demo and studio versions of "Well Well Well" that bring disc 12 to a roaring boil. Head to the comments section for the seven discs (as well as the HTML and Autorun files) which comprise the second CD-ROM. The thrilling conclusion to this three-part series is just around the corner, so dew drop in next week.


JR HeatWarp said...

-For a CD-ROM, burn the contents of the .zip files onto a CDR. If executed correctly, the interface should automatically open once the disc is inserted.
-To create an audio disc, drop the mp3s into your preferred audio player and burn away.
-I'm no IT whiz, so beyond that I can offer no further technical assistance. Enjoy!

Disc 9 + HTML
1. I'm Stepping Out
2. I'm The Greatest
3. Move Over Ms. L.
4. Bring On The Lucie (Freda People)
5. Bring On The Lucie (Freda People)
6. #9 Dream
7. People
8. The Luck Of The Irish
9. The Luck Of The Irish
10. Only People
11. Rock And Roll People
12. Mind Games Promo
13. (Forgive Me) My Little Flower Princess
14. Tower Records Spot
15. I Don't Want To Be A Soldier, I Don't Want To Die
16. How Do You Sleep?
17. Well (Baby Please Don't Go)
18. Move Over Ms. L.
19. Tobias Casuals #5
20. Clean Up Time
21. (Forgive Me) My Little Flower Princess
22. Mother
23. I'm Stepping Out
24. Only The Lonely (Know The Way I Feel)
25. Radio Free London
26. Rip It Up-Ready Teddyh mix 1:41

Disc 10
1. I'm Crazy
2. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
3. Walls And Bridges Promo
4. Stranger's Room
5. Woman
6. I'm Losing You
7. Mailman, Bring Me No More Blues
8. Peggy Sue
9. Cold Turkey
10. Dear Yoko
11. Bless You
12. Move Over Ms. L.
13. Living On Borrowed Time
14. Don't Let Me Down
15. Oh My Love
16. Jealous Guy
17. Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird Of Paradox)
18. Gone From This Place
19. Living On Borrowed Time
20. Michael Lindsey Hogg Talks With John Lennon
21. Yer Blues
22. Yer Blues
23. Don't Let Me Down

Disc 11
1. Just Gotta Give Me Some Rock & Roll
2. How Do You Sleep?
3. I Know (I Know)
4. Power To The People
5. Love
6. Out Of The Blue
7. Bony Moronie
8. Be My Baby
9. Power To The People
10. Oh Yoko
11. What You Got
12. Real Love
13. Woman
14. Cookin' (In The Kitchen Of Love)
15. Free As A Bird
16. Intuition
17. Intuition
18. Call My Name
19. Call My Name
20. Aisumasen (I'm Sorry)
21. One Of The Boys
22. Love

Disc 12
1. Honey Don't
2. Glad All Over
3. Lend Me Your Comb
4. Duane Eddy Jam
5. #9 Dream
6. 12-Bar Original
7. Well, Well, Well
8. Well, Well, Well
9. He Got The Blues
10. Look At Me
11. My Mummy's Dead
12. Real Life
13. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World
14. Cold Turkey
15. I'm Stepping Out
16. Watching The Wheels
17. Run For Your Life
18. The Maharishi Song
19. Julia
20. When A Boy Meets A Girl
21. God
22. Look At Me
23. Oh Yoko
24. How
25. Imagine
26. Jam
27. How Do You Sleep?
28. Oh My Love

Disc 13
1. Imagine
2. J.J.
3. Attica State
4. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World
5. Sweet Little Sixteen
6. Bless You
7. Many Rivers To Cross
8. Cookin' (In The Kitchen Of Love)
9. My Life
10. I Watch Your Face
11. Serve Yourself
12. The Worst Is Over
13. Watching The Wheels
14. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
15. I Don't Want To Face It
16. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)-Memories (Howling At The Moon)-Club Dakota Rap-Across The River
17. Real Love
18. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
19. I'm Stepping Out

Disc 14
1. Clean Up Time
2. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
3. Watching The Wheels
4. Dear Yoko
5. Clean Up Time
6. You Saved My Soul (With Your True Love)
7. Not For Love Nor Money
8. He Said He Said
9. She Said She Said
10. Yer Blues
11. Oh My Love
12. Oh My Love
13. Because
14. Happiness Is A Warm Gun
15. Give Peace A Chance
16. Give Peace A Chance
17. Give Peace A Chance
18. Give Peace A Chance
19. Give Peace A Chance
20. God
21. My Mummy's Dead
22. It's So Hard
23. Come Together
24. Honky Tonk Blues
25. I Know
26. Rock And Roll People
27. Only People
28. Whatever Gets You Through The Night

Disc 15
1. Steel And Glass
2. Beef Jerky
3. You Saved My Soul (With Your True Love)
4. Serve Yourself
5. Memories (Howling At The Moon)
6. Real Life
7. Watching The Wheels
8. Don't Be Crazy
9. Woman
10. (Just Like) Starting Over
11. I Don't Want To Face It
12. Nobody Told Me
13. Real Love
14. I'm Losing You
15. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
16. Nobody Told Me
17. Clean Up Time
18. (Just Like) Starting Over
19. If I Fell
20. I Sat Belonely
21. Foyle's Speech


Orpheus said...

this is brilliant! Thank you for this generous gift and a beautiful blog!!! u rock my world.

Denis said...

Oh... God/
Well well well/
I'm crazy/
Bless you/
Surprise, surprise/
I know/
Look at me/
Beautiful boy/
You saved my soul/

You are 'Greatest' !!!

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

Denis - Brasil

Anonymous said...

Once again, thanks!

Anonymous said...

thank you very much for this wonderful collection.
Your generosity is very much appreciated

Anonymous said...

increible !!!!!!!!

Anonymous said...

Thanks a lot for this great upload. Lennon is one of my heros.
Unfortunately I miss on disc 9 the HTML-folder with the "main.htm". Any chance of a repost?

clyde said...

i've been hunting for 4, 8, and 21 for 3 years. finally! thank you very much ...

JR HeatWarp said...

Hey Anon- The files you seek are included in volume 8.

Marty said...

Hi jr heatwarp,

well I tried and redownloaded disc 8 but I can't find the HTML-folder for Volume 2 (discs 9-15).
And tried again disc 9, no chance.


JR HeatWarp said...

My apologies for the misinformation, Marty. It looks like I neglected to upload the HTML folder altogether. Here's a link to the files you'll need.

Marty said...

Thanks a lot JR HeatWarp, now I am really happy. And thank you again for your great work, I like it.


Malach said...

Thanks for this splendid and very rare collection!